NASA’s SpaceX Crew 5 Astronauts Will Fly to the International Space Station on October 5, Here’s How to Watch the Launch Physically and Virtually

NASA’s SpaceX Crew 5 astronauts will fly to the International Space Station aboard SpaceX Dragon Endurance spacecraft atop a new Falcon 9 booster on October 5. After the Launch Readiness Review is completed, NASA target’s the lift-off to commence on Wednesday, Oct. 5 at noon EDT (16:00 GMT), from Kennedy Space Center’s Launch Complex 39A in Florida. What is the primary goal of this mission? How can you watch it physically or virtually? Continue reading to find out.

What is NASA’s SpaceX Crew 5 All About?

Before NASA commences with any mission to the ISS, the space agency often creates fascinating plans for its astronauts. NASA and SpaceX have partnered for the launches of Crew 1, 2, 3, and 4 missions to the ISS. Both space agencies are pairing up again to launch crew 5 astronauts to the International Space Station.

The crew 5 astronauts include NASA astronauts Mission Commander Nicole Aunapu, Pilot Josh Cassada, a JAXA (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency) astronaut Koichi Wakata, and Roscosmos cosmonaut Anna Kikina. Both Wakata and Kinina will serve as mission specialists at the International Space Station.

Crew 5 astronauts are going to the ISS to conduct scientific experiments, and technology demonstration, and to carry out maintenance activities aboard the station’s microgravity laboratory. On October 5, at noon EDT (1600 GMT), the SpaceX Crew 5 will commence their journey to the International Space Station to spend up to six months in the orbiting laboratory before making a return trip to Earth.

How to Watch the SpaceX Crew 5 Launch Physically

NASA’s Kennedy Space Center is offering a Crew 5 viewing opportunity to space enthusiasts who would prefer to watch liftoff from a physical location. If you purchase your viewing ticket from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, you will be allowed to get as close as possible to the launch pad. From this spot, you will get a detailed view of the rocket leaving the launch pad.

NASA’s Kennedy Space Center will enable you to view the launch from Banana Creek Launch Viewing Area at the Apollo/Saturn V Center, implying that you also obtain exclusive access to the Apollo/Saturn V Center exhibits and attractions during the launch window. But you should endeavor to learn about the scrub policy before purchasing your ticket. The price for the ticket is $250 plus tax and you can only pay for it online on NASA’s Kennedy Space Center platform. Purchasing this ticket will allow you to enjoy the following benefits.

  • 2-day admission to Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex  
  • Real-time launch commentary from a space-expert  
  • Complimentary premium souvenir
  • Bus transportation that will carry you through NASA’s gates to the Apollo/Saturn V Center
  • A commemorative launch card, badge, and lanyard
  • Digital photo of your party from AstroPhotos
  • Complimentary meal

How to Watch SpaceX Crew 5 Launch Virtually and for Free

The prelaunch news teleconference at Kennedy Space Center in Florida was already completed on Oct. 3 at 7:30 p.m. EDT (2330 GMT). The teleconference commences an hour after the completion of the launch readiness review. On October 5 at 8:30 a.m. EDT (1230 GMT), NASA TV will officially commence with the launch coverage.

At 12 p.m. EDT (1630 GMT), the new falcon 9 booster rocket will lift off from the launch pad carrying the four astronauts to the space station. At 1:30 p.m. EDT (1730 GMT), the post-launch news conference will commence on NASA TV. During the launch news conferences, you should be expecting to see the following NASA officials describing the outcome of the mission to the viewers.

  • Kathy Lueders, associate administrator, Human Exploration and Operations Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters.
  • Joel Montalbano, manager, International Space Station, Johnson Space Center.
  • Steve Stich, manager, Commercial Crew Program, Kennedy Space Center.
  • Benji Reed, senior director, Human Spaceflight Programs, SpaceX.
  • Hiroshi Sasaki, vice president and director general, JAXA’s Human Spaceflight Technology Directorate.
  • Sergei Krikalev, executive director, Human Space Flight Programs, Roscosmos.

When Will SpaceX Crew 5 Dock with the International Space Station?

NASA’s SpaceX crew 5 Dragon capsule is expected to dock with the International Space Station on October 6 at 4:57 p.m. EDT (2057 GMT). If the Endurance Capsule docks with the ISS at the expected time frame, the hatch opening will commence at 6:42 p.m. EDT (2242 GMT). We should be expecting a welcome Ceremony to celebrate the success of the mission on October 7 at 8:15 p.m. EDT (0015 GMT).

Conclusion

NASA’s SpaceX crew 5 mission will enable humanity to continue our research in low earth orbit. The mission should also remind us that Astronauts will also be flying to the moon during the Artemis 3 mission in 2025. We at Future Space World is wishing you a happy Viewing of the Oct. 5 SpaceX crew 5 Launch.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.