The Last Blood Lunar Eclipse Until 2025 Will Occur on November 8, here’s how to watch it live for free

Astronomers earlier announced that a total lunar eclipse known as the Beaver Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse will occur on November 8 starting. This fascinating astronomical event will begin at 3:02 a.m. EST (0802 GMT) and will eventually reach its totality at 5:16 a.m. EST (1016 GMT). Astronomers expect it to end at 8:56 a.m. EST (1356 GMT). NASA revealed that this total lunar eclipse will be seen from North and Central America, Some parts of South America, Hawaii, Alaska, New Zealand, Asia, and Australia.

Keep in mind that this is the last total blood lunar eclipse until 2025. So, if you are in the locations listed above, endeavor to go outdoors and observe the moon turn into a blood-red hue before your eyes. However, if you are outside the location, you can watch it online for free. Weather can possibly cloud your view if you are in the locations listed above. Hence, you can opt to watch the astronomical event online and get the best out of it. You can watch it for free in these webcasts.

Griffith Observatory Blood Moon Eclipse Webcast

The Griffith Observatory suited in Los Angeles, California will be live streaming the total lunar eclipse starting from EST (12 a.m. PST, 0800 GMT) to 9 a.m. EST (6 a.m. PST, 1400 GMT). You can visit the observatory’s Youtube channel to watch it live.

TimeandDate.com Blood Moon Eclipse livestream

TimeandDate.com will also be hosting a Livestream of the November 8 total lunar eclipse. It will start at 4 a.m. EST (0900 GMT) displaying the major part of the lunar eclipse and the totality as well. The website will also show a live blog of the blood moon eclipse. So, you can watch it live and follow the live blog to get more insight about the lunar eclipse.

How Total Lunar Eclipses Occur

A total lunar eclipse is said to occur whenever the moon moves behind Earth while going around the Sun’s orbit. Because of the movement of the moon, Earth’s shadow will block the sunlight reaching the moon, thereby illuminating the moon and turning it into a red hue. The titled nature of the moon’s orbit around the earth prevents our closest celestial neighbor to avoid the darkest part of Earth’s shadow known as the umbra will pass each month.

A partial eclipse is said to occur when the moon passes through a part of Earth’s shadow. However, during a total lunar eclipse, the entire moon will be covered in Earth’s shadow. This astronomical event turns the moon into a blood-red color due to light refracted through Earth’s atmosphere.

How often do lunar eclipses occur?

A lunar eclipse occurs every 1.5 years or thereabout, with multiple ones occurring within a year, according to NASA. A Super Flower Blood Moon eclipse has already occurred in May. Hence, the November 8 blood moon will be the second total lunar eclipse to occur in 2022. NASA revealed that the next total lunar eclipse is expected to occur on March 13, 2025, and shortly followed by a total lunar eclipse on September 7, 2025. However, the moon is expected to experience a partial lunar eclipse in 2023 and 2024 when it passes through the umbra. You should prepare ahead of time to get the best out of these future lunar eclipses. However, you should put in your best effort to ensure that you enjoy the total lunar eclipse that will occur today, Nov. 8.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.